Talking

I'm in my fourth year of survival and I like to think that there will be no new surprises from my stroke. I say this because it took me the best part of two years to find some hidden changes to my body. I am still working hard to make improvements but at times this gets rather frustrating and at times I give up trying. This feeling doesn't last for long and usually I am quickly back to exercising my fingers, legs and voice. The voice is the most embarrasing bit because my deficiencies are obvious to anyone I talk to. Has anyone found any clever tricks to improve their way of speaking?

?

Deigh

Send message

•  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Keep at it Deigh. You know how much you have conquered over the past four years. So often its just plug on. At nearly three years my voice is returning. I can actually sing a bit. Nothing clever on my part, it has just returned alongside the other million things that have been going wonky. For me it was the echo that had me fooled. And now it seems that my emotionality is easing and thus the singing can start. I havent the courage to ask my fellow pilgrims what the voice sounds like, but I can feel it getting somewhere near in tune. 

Colin

Don't ask! You will know if it isn't right because everyone will move away from you!

You must be able to record yourself, modern mobile phones have every known system on them. Have a listen to yourself, and decide then!

Deigh

It probably sounds just fine Colin, you'll be able to join in with all the Christmas songs!!  ?