Continuing the discussion from About the Share your story category:

Hi all, newbie here. Had a stroke 3 weeks ago. Im 49 was a normal day a normal week, was doing the weekly food shop then got the pins and needles on my right side. Managed to get home then the right side of my face went. Was absolutely terrifying. Once in hospital it took them 3 days before i had a scan, was surrounded by old people and felt like no one would take me seriously. After 6 days i regained strength in my right leg and discovered a determination i never knew i had to get out of there. 2 weeks later i was transferred to a community hospital who made it very obvious that they didn’t want me there either as i wasnt sick enough. I could walk yes, but only to the loo and my right hand could move but not grip.
I was in the community hospital for 24hrs, before they sent me home.
So now im home with my partner who works from home and my mum has come to stay to help. No one has been in touch about physio and what the next steps are.
Ive again been left to just get on with it.
Any help or advice would be much appreciated

3 Likes

Hi @emmahopkins74

Welcome to the forum but sorry you have had reason to join us :frowning:

Not much comfort for you I’m sure but your story doesn’t surprise those of us who’ve been here for a while but you can take some comfort in the fact that those of us who have been here for some time generally see improvements in our condition with or without the help of the NHS.

You’ll find the Welcome - what we wish we'd heard at the start has information that we have collectively collated because we often repeat it

You’ll find a bunch here a friendly and knowledgeable lot who will be happy to answer questions share your angst and your victories

Your best bet as the welcome post says is to read widely and then use the magnifying glass at the top of the page to find the topics that you need information on

Ciao
Simon

2 Likes

@emmahopkins74 Hi & welcome to the forum