About the Share your story category

Use this space to introduce yourself and talk about your or your loved one’s stroke experience. It’s a great spot to connect, find support, and understand you’re not alone.

3 Likes

Well good morning all I’m new to this kind of communication so please give me a chance. My name is dave and I’m recovering from something which i had never heard òf before it’s called a stroke and its taken a large part of my life with it?
This thing has taken most of the things I used to do and used to love and I’m having to now rely on other people to do things I used to do myself,
It all started one morning I got up and the next thing I knew I was in an ambulance being rushed to hospital.
I got up all full of the joys of whatever I was full of the joys of and the next thing was I was laying on the floor of the bathroom and the next thing I know I’m sitting on a chair .
I then get to a hospital only to be told that I’ve got to be moved to another one so I then have to get into an ambulance and be Blue lighted over.
So I’m now in hospital and a week later I come out considerably less feeling all full of the joys and feeling like a huge hole has appeared in my head with nothing in it,
Now a month or so later and ìm feeling somewhat better. I still cannot walk properly but I’m learning I don’t speak like I used to but I’m learning and my writing well don’t mention my writing at least in polite terms. But I’m learning and that big hole in my head where my memory used to be well its still there but its a hole that has to be got round and with all the help I’m getting its gònna
Be one hell of a ride but at least its gonna be a ride that has a purpose.

6 Likes