My Stroke story

Hi,

I had my stroke just over 2 months ago age 54, while at work. I’m a psychiatric nurse of 36 years and due to retire next April. I was running a clinic giving patients injections when I started feeling like I had been drinking 2 bottles of vodka! No warning, no pain, no loss of consciousness. Just felt and sounded drunk and wobbly. God knows what my patients thought cause I sounded drunk as a skunk. Anyway,I was whipped away to hospital in the back of an ambulance where I spent 8 traumatic days in hdu while they tried to get my bp down cause the area affected by the bleed is the are that regulates blood pressure. Took my bp every 30 mins and wondered why I was so tearful and anxious. Sleep deprivation perhaps?

I know I am very lucky as have been left with very little residual stroke problems. Very very slight right sided weakness, speech back to normal, bp more or less behaving. I guess I am just so surprised at how tired I feel almost all of the time. I hanker to go back to work as in my head I see that as ‘normal ‘ and I am now having to look at a new normal of feeling like I need to lie down as I’m so tired and I am aching from top to toe. It’s hard being on the other side of health care, being cared for instead of what I am now having to get used to, being the giver. I miss it and miss my patients but I am no use to them the way I am just now and am likely to have a wee cry in front of them instead of be me, the nurse able help them, and am barely able to help sort myself out.

This is turning into war and peace, and I am aiming to be positive and get back to some semblance of me whatever that is, reduce my anxiety.....been hellish since this happened, worrying about what might be, and plod on and recover day by day. Onwards and upwards!

Take it easy tiger!  You sound very positive and I'm sure you will make great progress, but continue to get plenty of rest in these early days - your brain will thank you for it in the long run.  xx