I’m 54 and have just had a POCI stroke

Hello, I'm a primary school teacher who collapsed in class last week and taken to hospital. Turns out I'd had a mild POCI stroke.  I have luckily been left with no immediate issues except being physically and mentally absolutely exhausted.  It all seems a little like a weird and frightening dream at the moment.  Just wanted to say hello and to contact others who've experienced what I have.

Welcome. I think most of us on here would say to you 'a stroke is a stroke' and even a mild one can have a psychological and physical impact. Tiredness is certainly one after effect that many of have had and still live with. Any stroke injures the brain and the brain needs time to recover. I would say keep an eye of things, don't overdo it and make sure you thoroughly understand your type of stroke.

It may be that you need to make some lifestyle changes as well as taking medication to prevent a further event. I have certainly changed my diet since my strokes (a big one and, five years on, a mild one). I also go to exercises classes that include some Tai Chi.

This is a great forum, full of people who give sound advice.

Thank you for the reply. It really does help knowing how to contact people who have had experience themselves, Best wishes 

Hello Bucky B,

First the standard disclaimer: every stroke is different because it depends upon where in the brain any injury occurred and how extensive it is.

That said, we do all share the experience of something potentially deadly occurring completely without warning. One minute you're normal, the next you're in hospital 'at a stroke' (hence why it is called Stroke). Feeling bewildered by it is natural, especially fairly soon after the Event.  It's a consequence of the shock and trauma of it combined with any cognitive changes caused by the stroke. Feeling exhausted is a very typical symptom and many if not most people learn and find ways to live with it.