Hello. My Name is Moira and it is my first time

Like I said my name is Moira and I had a stroke on 24 Mar 2022. I was out of it for a number of days but came round to a very different world. My vision is affected in my left eye and my speech is severely affected. I am mobile but tire quickly and I am as weak as kitten. I’m sure this site will help me in many ways.

5 Likes

@moira.mcgeough Hi Moira, welcome to this lovely friendly forum although sorry to hear you’ve had a stroke. I had my stroke last Dec which also affected my vision. I had lots of flashing lines in front of both eyes, everything had moved left on the page and left eye muscle weakness (didn’t know about the muscle until a few weeks ago though). Thankfully my sight returned quite quickly and I hope yours does too.
As with everyone the fatigue, which it sounds like you’re getting, can be awful and finding a way to pace yourself is essential. Be kind to yourself and rest when you need to.
Good luck on your recovery journey. Look forward to hearing how you’re getting on.
Best wishes

Ann xx

2 Likes

When you’ve had a stroke you come up against lots of limitations, things you can’t do places you can’t go.
Obviously you have already had to confront a bunch of these but you have discovered a means to express yourself, by putting up a message on this forum. Being able to use a keyboard and screen, gives you strength opens up your vision and makes a huge world open to you. Make the most of it.

@moira.mcgeough As others have told you, you are among friends who are pleased to share their worlds with you. Keep coming back and share your experience, ask your questions, offer your advice, all this makes this place rich and rewarding.

as ever
keep on keepin on
bob

2 Likes

Welcome @moira.mcgeough , sorry you’ve become another stroke statistic but glad you joined our group, which I’m sure you will find helpful and friendly.