Great features

Hi my name is Lisa I had a stroke in January this year so I am new to all this as I am getting used  to it where I used to be independent but now because of my stroke it's really stopped me from doing normal things but sometimes just sit and cry as I really get annoyed with myself I just want to feel normal again that's not to much to ask 

Hi Lisa. Stroke is a traumatic event which affects our emotions as well as our body. My stroke was two and a half years ago and it made me fearful, uncertain of my recovery and a feeling that all was lost. I was being hoisted in and out of bed and my left arm and hand were useless. But I fought back! I did all the exercises asked of me, made myself walk again and got back to cooking, baking, shopping and going on short breaks.

You might not be the person you were, but you are still alive and life is for a purpose. I am not independent, but I have as much right to go out, do things and enjoy myself as anyone else has. I am lucky, however, because I have a partner who helps me and has never let me feel sorry for myself. I have down days,of course, and I miss what I once did, especially long country walks. However, I value the smallest things now that I never did before...flowers, birdsong, the changing seasons.

My major issue is post stroke fatigue, which demands an hour’s bed rest every day. I have also changed my diet, drink less alcohol and go to three exercise classes a week.

Please take heart. You are not alone and many on this forum will give you good advice. Ask anything you like. Above all, try to be positive and do seek medical help if your depression and anxiety persist. You have survived your stroke, do not let it ruin your life. Good luck on your journey!

Dear Lisa

So sorry to learn of your stroke, but welcome to this forum. Very good words from John, he is such a super contributor.