Bringing my Mum home

My 77 yr old Mum had a severe bleed to the brain in December, told unlikely would survive but here we are 11 weeks later!  She spent 9 weeks in hospital and has been transferred to a nursing home for supposedly 6 weeks to await a carers and financial assessment.  However, I feel she is deteriorating in the nursing home both physically and mentally so would like to bring her home to trial her living with us and if successful to build a granny annexe in the garden for her.  As I am completely new to this any help or advice as to who to contact regards to what support I should expect for her in the community, any carers support or physio and also what equipment I need?  She was completely fit and healthy prior to her stroke so this has come as a real shock and I dont really know where to start!  Any advice whatsoever would be hugely appreciated.  Many thanks

I think these are questions best suited to your gp and social services. You might also wish to contact The Stroke Association Helpline and/ or Age UK. Clearly, she would need a care package of some sort. Some areas provide physiotherapy support at home, but this depends on what is available during the current pandemic. Before I left hospital I was taken on a home visit by the hospital occupational support workers to see what aids and adaptations I would need. These were provided free by Age UK and installed before and shortly after I came home.

Thanks will do that.  Think definitely depends on the area you live in to the help you get.  The advice is appreciated thanks again

So sorry for mum and for you.

its only those of us who are fit that survive a stroke.

We do recover from strokes. Very slowly, but we do get recovery. So mums needs now are very different from say three years along the recovery path.