4 years and counting

dear fellow survivors and all carers on the forum. Today is the 4th anniversary of the stroke which I am happy to say I survived. I thought I'd offer a few reflections  on my 4 years.  stroke anniversaries are strange things, and somewhat  melancholy occasions, or can be. I decided this year I don't want it to be a melancholy thing. but neither will I opt for any forced jollity.

the hard fact of a stroke is that it changes everything. it turned my life upside down.  it has taken all of these four years to really understand what has happened to me. I think one has to live with it for a period of time to really understand what has changed. the thing itself happens suddenly  and doesn't really give you time to get to grips with it. day by day I learned a bit more. the experience of becoming disabled, which is how I now describe myself is a strange learning process and I am still learning. early days focused on working hard on recovery, the prognosis was encouraging but the progress was not.  I still work on what I may yet be able to recover and I don't think quite in such black and white terms as perhaps I once struggled with, either I accept the disability or I work for recovery. I think now that it isn't an either or like that but it is both.  For me anyway a  radical acceptance of what has changed and may not return has only really been possible  after a long time living with it. but the acceptance is helping me to move forward and I do have a hopeful outlook  as I embark on year 5. all strokes are different and I am sure that all recovery journeys are very different.  I can only share how it has been for me. if you get anything from it, that would be gratifying. for me the stroke affected me physically a great deal. I was a keen walker and lost the use of my left leg and couldn't walk at all at first. I now walk, not very fluently with the aid of a stick. after 4 years I've graduated from a quad stick to a tripod then to a single point cane.