Yoga after stroke

I used to do yoga before I had the stroke, absolutely loved doing sun salutations and other yoga flow routines that included some inversion poses such as downward dog and forward bends.

In fact most transition poses from standing to floor involve the forward bend, I was Just wondering if anyone knows if these are contra indicated following stroke?

I’d like to try yoga again but not sure if gravity and blood rushing the head is a good thing.

Does anyone do yoga following a stroke?

2 Likes

Hello @Mahoney, no I do Tai chi, and I think yoga is recommended for stroke survivors too, but I would just be aware of carotid artery tear if doing odd head positions as someone has had a cerebellar stroke form doing that. I don’t think blood rushing to the head would be dangerous if practised gently. That’s just my opinion, as I am not familiar with yoga.

1 Like

Thanks Rups, I’m by no way able to do head stands lol, I was a novice before and would class myself a beginner level at present, so there would be no complicated poses in my repertoire.

I appreciate your input, I may try tai chi as an alternative.

Best wishes

Hi Rups, just wondering if you have any recommendations for where to start with Tai Chi?

Do you go to classes?

1 Like