Work dilemma

Hi i had a stroke 6 months ago, I was able to go back to work, after 3months,i work as a support worker,and experiencing some negative comments because management have advised i don't push wheel chairs yet, but has anyone else experienced any thing like this. This is not my choice and it's really getting me down, as there are comments made daily. 

Hi Maza,

Would it help you if you had a more detailed and formal assessment of your physical capabilities. That way you can establish what is expected of you and formulate a plan to add in new skills as they become appropriate or necessary.  Just a thought.  I had a 2 hour assessment ahead of my second meeting to plan my return to work.  This isn't due until November 20th. But I and my manager as well as H.R know what to O.H physio says I am capable of at the moment.  Plus have a schedule of how more hours and additional tasks will be introduced  .

Kind Regards 

Kay 

I am so impressed you can go back to work so soon. Well done Maza. The only ones who know what you are going through are other stroke survivors. People can be so mean about us SS. Part of it is because we look well. A lot is huge ignorance. What they cant see is the inside of your poor damaged brain.

best wishes

Colin

hi Maza

it is really tough. 

I would urge you to keep a record of any comments made. these could and probably do constitute disability discrimination. I have experience of similar things and if I could have chosen a different path I would not have gone back.. one of my more trusted colleagues kept record of things others were saying about me. I had considered employment tribunal action but felt it was too stressful for ne. I have been back at work for over a year now but it has not been a happy experience. 

less stressfully I would strongly recommend two things: