What do you do for work?

How did you all cope with going back to work? I’m office based and work at a computer all day - looking to go back but work from home first

@RaksP i returned to work this week on a phased return initially working 3 hrs a day 3 days a week. I am office based (mainly) & work at a computer. It’s only my first week but i’ve found it harder than i thought it would be (i knew it would be tough). I am working from home at mo too. Hopefully it will be better next week as my head will hopefully be more in work mode. I’ve been napping in the afternoons as i have been very tired.

I would advise having an occupational health referral done which will look at any adjustments you might need. Regular breaks, pacing yourself are a must i think.

3 Likes

How long were you off work for?

I have been off almost 16 months. That’s part of the reason I think it was hard as my brain hasn’t been in work mode for a long time.

@RaksP
Good morning,

I work in IT and have a mixture of hands-on and workstation work. Before I had my TIA I would alternate office and home days. During my phased return I’ve had more days at home.

My TIA occurred just before New Year 2022. After a week in hospital, I was discharged on 6th Jan - and told to rest for a month. My phased return started on 6th Feb. I was keen to get going again but hadn’t been given any medical guidance - so where my boss suggested 2 hours/day at first, I just doubled that because I’m me :wink:

Seriously, first week I just worked from home. For the next 3, I would venture into the office one day/week. And for the last 3, I’ve gone in two days/week. In April I’m going to step this up again to my alternating days.