Want to see what's going on inside your stroke brain

These are the neurons in your head trying to rebuild connections and whilst they’re doing that, they’re exhausting you and require lots of sleep and nutrients to fuel the that recovery process. Why do you think babies sleep so much, feed so often, get cranky and cry a lot…because their whole brain is newly growing and developing.

Here’s a single brain cell looking for a connection

And here’s one ‘finding that connection’

Plenty of rest aids recovery, vital even, in the first 3mths so don’t even try to fight it.

13 Likes

This is very helpful. To see what is going on inside our brain is really helpful thankyou. Mine was left side mca affecting my right arm and leg

2 Likes

Thank you, I’m glad it’s a help to you. I’m no expert, I just have a very analytical mind and love to dissect it :laughing: Guess it runs in the family as my mother was a psychiatric nurse and my daughter is studying psychology at university so she helps me a lot. Keeps me rational and well within the here and now :smile:

My stroke was similar to yours, I’m now just over 2yrs post stroke :smile:
It does get easier! There’s no use getting cross with yourself, it is what it is and you just need to be patient, time heels and you need at least a year. It’s just the same for a replaced hip or broken ankle and I should know as I’ve both :blush: It can’t be rushed no matter how hard you try, so be kind to yourself and just go with it, one step at a time. I found the sooner I relaxed into it and learnt to accept, the easier it all became.

And before I knew it, it’s 2 years on and I’m off to the gym every other day or out hiking or running errands and getting on with life again. That doesn’t mean to say I have no residual effects from stroke, I just consider myself a work in progress :wink:

8 Likes