Virtual reality Headset

have tried to get hold of my docs, but they are understandably busy so thought I would ask here.
M y wife asked if I would like a VR headset ( oculus Quest) bur said is it alright to use one after a stroke. As I haven’t got a clue thought would raise it here. Any views appreciated.

I think I would try to use it. If you get troubled by the results, then set it aside until you are, say, two years post stroke then have another go.

I always try to remember that the stroke ended on day one and now it’s all about recovery.

I can not envisage your GP being well informed for that question.

Best wishes
Colin

1 Like

Hello @Al59, are you planning on using it for gaming or rehabilitation? After the stroke, I started playing video games of an evening with my youngest son, then I continued to play puzzle-adventure games without my son, and now I find not only has it helped me with coordination, memory, but also it relaxes me for an hour or two.

VR has been widely used for post-stroke rehabilitation, but I guess the main question would be, what content Oculus has for recovery purposes, and at what cost (VR headsets are not cheap). You may have to be a bit inventive as to what you use for rehabilitation, whether it is appropriate games to augment what content Oculus has for stroke rehabilitation, I know that they have the Rewellio stroke therapy app, but it didn’t have many good reviews. At the end of the day, tech of this sort always maintains a fairly good re-sale price, so if you can’t return it, you might be able to sell on for near the retail price, or pass on as a present.