TIA/Stroke

Hi I’m Tracey. I work as a Practice Nurse. I had a small stroke/TIA on Monday. I woke with a strange feeling in my right arm and leg. I went to work as we were short staffed as usual. But ended up at my own GP and was sent for an MRI. I felt totally fine by then apart from blurred vision. The consultant rang me a couple of hours later to say I had had a small stroke. I feel devastated. I’m 53 years old and don’t feel ready for this. Any advice on how to process all of this would be appreciated. I’m usually the one who covers for everyone else being off sick! Work has been ridiculously busy recently and I had got to the stage where if I got through a day without being in tears at least once, I classed it as a good day. I was doing 10 hour days without a proper break. Now I’m in the position of being off I just feel so guilty about leaving my colleagues in the lurch.
Feel lost.

4 Likes

Hello @Tracey53. I’m sorry to hear why you are on this forum and how you feel lost. This is all new. You are not alone. Use this forum to gain knowledge and to feel in the company of others who are in a position to understand.
The transition from being what sounds like constantly rushed off your feet and having a purpose through work to now having to rest is really hard.
Be kind and patient with yourself. That’s my best advice. Come back to the forum when you need to, take good care, Julia x

@Tracey53 welcome to the forum although sorry to hear you’ve had a reason to be here.