The problem with numbers and Aphasia

Since my stroke I have not done numbers except by my calculator. If find 10 between 3-4 numbers is dificult, I have a maths degree at university and number this very dificult. My reading is OK and my speech needed help.

Can somone help me to give my number in future? I do sudoke and other pices in the Times daily but then will not help me.

1 Like

Hello Frank, I have little experience with aphasia, so can only provide some rudimentary help. There are free exercises at BrainHQ that may be of assistance, TactusTherapy has an NHS approved numbers app, this is for the phone or tablet, and like BrainHQ, it has a free lite version.

Sudoke is meant to be very good. As I was awful at mathematics, not much has changed since my stroke, in fact, I’ve probably become a bit better at it due to an improved retention for associative memory. I think another part of my brain is compensating for my lack of short term recall, and it does a better memory job, albeit, not for my short term recall.

Good morning Frank.

You must be doing something right as you have found your way on the new forum. Well done, I struggle badly with this new layout.

I had aphasia, not severe, and recovery just steadily improved over many months.

I am an FCA so numbers had previously come very easy indeed. But we are not the same as before stroke. We are new people.
I do different things, such as tea making and waiting on tables and gardenning. After about three years friends accepted I would no longer assist with 5heir tax returns. My Institute have given me lifetime free status as an FCA but I do not Practice. Things slowly improve over the years, but I just have to tolerate my loss of numbers. I am six years post stroke and the numbers do not flow. But it doesn’t matter. I can do some voluntary work for the local church .