Swollen finger

I am 59 and had my stroke on December 14 last year. It affected my right side arm and leg which have improved considerably over the last 3 months. I have found the stroke guide very helpful and it feels reassuring that I am not alone. I have a broad selection of the common problems but overall mustn't grumble.

I wondered if anyone else had suffered from a swollen and painful finger or shoulder on the stroke side, and if so did it recover with time. Do the overall aches and pains ever subside. Anyone got any advice on how to help it on its way.

Regards Neil 

Hi Neil. I can only comment on the shoulder. Since my stroke three years ago, I feel as if I have a frozen shoulder even though I don’t. My exercise class tutor pointed out to me the other week that because we have strong shoulder muscles, they keep the arm and hand suspended naturally but that weak shoulder muscles affect the arm and hand accordingly. However, I have no medical experience about pain or shoulder problems.

Dear Neil,

I am glad you are recovering well, may it continue.

If I may ask, please, in what way have your arm and leg improved after stroke?

My husband has had a stroke, left side affected, and his arm and leg are parallysed.

I have found that the aches and pains have eased over time. That easing happened after about 18 months. I have "left sided weakness" which I dont notice most of the time. As our brains are working differently, it seems that muscles are not utilized as they were throughout our lives and that they complain bitterly.  I think that substantial and varied exercise would have helped, but I dont have the capacity to do that. So I do what I can, when I can. I always ensure i have moved around each day. Gardening, walking, houeswork and making the bed are all good exercise. I remind myself that the muscles were not injured, only the messaging system. 

So much to learn.

Best wishes

Colin

Thanks Colin your posts are an inspiration to us all.