Struggling mentally

Hi there, I found out in November that at some point in the last 10 years I have had a stroke. It has caused me to lose a quarter of my peripheral vision. I wasn’t aware that I’d had a stroke or that I had lost my vision, it was a routine optician appointment that found it. I had weeks of tests to determine what had caused it and they have found a hole in my heart that they think has allowed a blood clot to travel up to my brain and cause the stroke. I am still waiting over seven months later for the DVLA to tell me whether I can drive or not. That in itself is massive as I drive for a living. It is so stressful worrying about what is going to happen if they tell me I can never drive again. Since Covid the DVLA are only dealing with Covid related issues so I can’t get an update on my case. In addition I am really struggling with the mental side. I say the wrong word for things all the time. Such as washing instead of shopping or hoover instead of lawn mower. As soon as I say it I know it’s wrong but now I don’t know if it’s the stroke that has caused it (as I have been doing it for ages). What else has been affected? I am always tired but have been for a long time. Because I don’t know when my stroke happened I have no idea what to attribute to the stroke. I am clumsy, I have struggled with meltdowns and rants which led me to start taking Sertraline four years ago (the best thing I ever did!). Because I don’t have any visible effects of stroke I feel like a fraud. I am struggling  

Anyone got any advice?

Sally

2 Likes

Hi Sally