Stroke forum really helps!

Hi, I am 6 months on from having stroke. My world has been turned upside down in that time - no house, no relationship, no job, no money, all personal stuff at ex’s until I find a place to live. I am staying with parents as I was evicted from Hosp. I am struggling with Agoraphobia and lack of confidence.

Right, the reason for the post is - I read with responses to the ‘Help…How do I deal with this’ and they gave me enough confidence to go out on my walker. I am still learning and legs weak. Got past one house and back,.

Thank you to all of you for your responses to this post - all posts really

10 Likes

You must continue to post your progress here, you will get encouragement and sympathy where necessary, it will also be a record (a public one at that) of your ups and downs and a spur to advance further.

Best wishes

Bob :smiley:

1 Like

Will do. You too.

I used my wheeled walker today after reading some of the responses to a post. Got as far as one house wide and back. just need to keep plugging away. I pick up my wheelchair tomorrow from Wheelchair service.

Hi so sorry to hear about your stroke and the situation you find yourself in. Please stay positive, you will get there with determination.
Some days are better than others you will feel fatigued, so listen to what your body is telling you and take a day at a time.
I had my stroke 20 months ago I was In hospital from August until October. I had a left side weakness subluxation of my shoulder and a drop foot.
I came out of hospital on a Zimmer frame just walking a few steps.
I had physio from the NHS for and few weeks but carried on having physio privately which has been a great help and do excise’s at home.
I now walk independently with a carbon fibre splint on my left leg I am using my left arm and hand still weak but getting there.
I did my test with the DVLA and back driving locally.