Stroke following violent assault

Hello

I am a nurse following an assault where a patient kicked me in the head I became symptomatic which lead me to a&e approximately 5 weeks after the assault. I was given a CT scan which then discovered I had had a stroke. I am 51 and have found this diagnosis devastating. 

I am waiting for all sorts of referrals for my various symptoms, left side numbness weakness, tinnitus,  deafness, headaches, fatigue, crippling anxiety, nausea and depression. 

I wondered if anyone has suffered a stroke following a similar incident. I was offered no support from my employers and was forced to work with the assailant until I left. The police seem reluctant to interview him until they see my medical records. 

I feel very fearful for the future and almost paralysed at the moment any help advice or support would be greatly appreciated

Thanks x

Gosh, Nimby, what an awful experience to go through. It seems like you have been abandoned by authorities who should be taking better care of your circumstances. I can't offer any useful advice as I wouldn't know where to start ... perhaps citizen's advice maybe? I can offer advice on stroke, and everyone on the stroke forums are very supportive. 

Stay brave. 

Hi NIMBY. My stroke came after a schizophrenic threatened to stab me because his voices were telling him to. My bp clearly went through the roof and caused a bleed on the brain. Had left side weakness, but through physio, exercise and willpower, I have improved enormously. I still have a weak left arm and hand and I can walk with a stick.

Are you getting support from your union?

1 Like