Sharing some good news

Always feel a iittle reticent posting a personal positive thing - as i would hate to feel like im rubbing it into others who aren’t in the same position yet…

In the post today came… my blue badge and
2: DVLA confirmation that medically im fit to drive and my driving licence will be reissued and received in the early new year.

Im really happy about my d/l coming back but also feel a bit weird that my condition and mobility means i qualify for a blue badge.

One of my 3 goals since my stroke back in May 22 was getting back driving so that is a step nearer!!!

Thanks for reading

Andy

13 Likes

Good for you Andy!
You shouldn’t feel bad about posting good news as it can be motivating for others. There’s always a Ying to a Yang :yin_yang:.

I’m sure you’ll appreciate the increase to your independence. One word of warning though, that I have found, driving is yet another thing that is fatiguing. I was a very confident driver pre stroke but now find those automatic calculations I used to perform on auto pilot now take some concentration. Similar to walking and other ‘everyday’ tasks that you never realised you were doing.

Enjoy the freedom but start slowly :grin::red_car::racing_car:

1 Like

@TRFCANDY53 Hi Andy

Never apologise for shating good news. We all share in your joy with you.

Great news re driving licence & having a blue badge will make it that bit easier for you. As @Ingo66 says start slowly as driving is veru fatiguing even when you’re well.

Look forward to hearing about your driving exploits.

Ann xx

1 Like

Congratulations. You will find the blue badge an enormous help.

1 Like

Thanks Mark
My lads (21 and 19) are car mad and are already ‘suggesting’ suitable vehicles… im tryi g to slow them down- literally!!!

Thats great advice and adding new tasks will undoubtedly take time to get used to.

I love driving - always have so im thinking psychologically it will help me in the long term.