Returning to work!

I am a Midwife, pre stroke I worked in the community, driving around visiting families at home and faciliting clinics in childrens centres.

My stroke affected my visual field and I have had the DVLA eye tests and awaiting results.

My stroke was on 12th November, and I just had my occupational health appointment and they’ve said I’m fit to return to work - office based only awaiting DVLA results, and phased return for 6 weeks.

Sympton wise I have the visial defect that I’m learning to live with, have terrible fatigue and am getting support for anxiety and panic attacks.

Am I crazy for going back ‘so soon’? My pay is about to half, I have a home and 3 children to pay for and I dont know if I can afford it if I don’t go back. But I feel massive guilt - what if I return and sometimes happens because I’m going back so soon? So many what if’s and buts. I’m saying to myself I can try and if its too much I’ll get signed off for longer. It’s only a job I keep saying to myself, put my health first - but I’m also just sat at home and maybe sleeping more because I have nothing else to do.

Any advice would be appreciated? Xx

1 Like

I would talked to u GP or ubstroke team ti see what they say then talk to HR dept and see what thrtr say then you can base you decisions on facts which should help to empower you with kind regards des

2 Likes

@Emmap1982 it really is a difficult one & will vary for everyone.

A few things to consider maybe.

If you weren’t short of money would you go back?
How will being in an office affect your visual field issues?
If you do reduced hours with regular breaks could you manage?
What sort of things bring on your fatigue? Can you avoid them at work?
What adjustments are being put in place as well as the office based role? Are they sufficient? Do you need more?
Can you work from home?

Your long term health has to come first but as you say if you try and it doesn’t work then you can be signed off again.