Out of something bad

Hello all. My name is Chris. I am 62. I am a retired teacher. I present shows on a community radio station. It was whilst I was presenting a show, something felt wrong.

I felt very thirsty. I got up and wobbled. Thought nothing of it. Got myself a glass of water and took a sip. I thought I was drinking bleach. I spat it out immediately. Over the next few hours, I was aware that I was having trouble saying my words. I got up on occasions, and on each occasion, I wobbled again, then fell. I still thought nothing of it and somehow drove home. After the fourth fall, I began to think there might be a problem. I phoned 111. Very soon, an ambulance turned up. They ran some tests and then said 'we recommend you go into hospital; we can take you right now'. 'Why?' I asked. 'It looks like you've had a stroke.' Are you sure?' I asked. 'The signs are there' came the reply.

Fast forward a couple of hours, I found myself in a hospital 35 miles from my home, where the diagnosis was confirmed. So, I was admiited. 

I live on my own, so only had a few visitors. When visiting time came around, I just used to take the time to think; I never really had time to think normally. I wrote down random jottings and thoughts about my experience with a stroke and being hospitalised. I was jotting thoughts down all the time. I'm like that!

One day, I was sat up in bed, scribbling away. A guy in the ward said 'everytime I see you mate, you're writing . Are you writing a book?'

Fat forward, another two years, and I have just had my first book published. It is called 'A Stroke of Luck or a beginners guide to being hospitalised and what you can reasonably expect.' It is published by Austin Macauley publishers and is available on most retail outlets on line priced at £9.99