Orally articulate hemiplegic octogenarian

In 2006 I had a haemorrhagic stroke. Slowly I lost consciousness and eventually recovered in hospital. I am told I was briefly incoherent but regained speech in a day or so. Physiotherapy helped me to learn to use my right led but I have no proprioception available in my right limbs and no feeling of touch on my right side. Some things are painful but I lost a nail from my big toe without realising it. I broke a hip in 2008.
I think I’m a happy chap. I am looked after wonderfully well by my superb wife with a carer to get me up in the morning.
I am an engineer, married sixty years, DV, in February 2022. I am here to discuss strokes, the nervous system, arbitration, ADR, and any & everything. I am looking for friends of any age who would like to do the same.

3 Likes

Dear Geoffrey. I have just read your post. I also am an octogenarian who has had a stroke. I make the best of my days a bit like yourself. I had a stroke almost three years ago. I find this site interesting and like to read about others. How are you? I have recently celebrated our sixtieth wedding anniversary, My husband is a great support to me. Hope to hear from you soon. Regards Lilian

Hello @Geoffrey, welcome to the forum, thanks for sharing your story. Hope we can have some good discussions along the way. I had a cerebellar stroke, September 2020, I’m 45. I’m incredibly interested in the science of it all, but it doesn’t consume my life, as I’m interested in so many things. I have a proprioceptive impairment but it has to do with my vestibular system, and how I move through my environment, and the visual processing associated with that. I’m an author, still writing, albeit, a bit slower than I normally would. This is not through any lack of ideas or speed in which I can write, it has more to do with the simple activity of managing tasks throughout the day.

Dear Lilian,