Off moment ☹️

I’m having an off moment, I feel so sad :disappointed:

I should feel good, my daughter and grandson have just left after a visit but instead of feeling lifted, I feel down. I can’t put my finger on why… it feels like loneliness, I feel a little abandoned, a little left behind even though I’m not technically alone in the house, hubby is upstairs watching football

Usually I’d have gone with them for the day, they were off clothes shopping for an upcoming holiday but I’m still resting following a day at work yesterday.

These heightened emotions following the stroke can be hard to deal with. I need to do something but don’t have the energy at the moment, a vicious circle.

I can’t even distract myself with eating, I used to be an emotional eater :rofl: a nice cup of tea with a biscuit (or four) would ‘solve’ most things (not really, I know this) but I haven’t ate a biscuit since the stroke, reducing saturated fats, healthy eating etc and a carrot stick just won’t ‘cut it’ :rofl::joy::rofl:

The logical side of my thinking knows the feeling will pass.

So what to do, listen to music, read, watch TV, try some meditation, so many choices.

Best wishes

2 Likes

Mahoney, just read your post. I will share with you an update on my situation. Yesterday we went to the airport with my daughter who was returning to Dubai. She returned to us a little later having been turned back from the flight which was full!! She is very lively and excitable and our peace has been shattered. For two old fogeys who are used to quiet it was a shock We are now waiting to go to Manchester airport this evening to try again. Enjoy your quiet time. Lilian

3 Likes

@Mahoney i think your feelings are natural when a busy house becomes a little emptier even if it is just temporary busyness. I often feel a little lonely when visitors leave even though having them tires me out. I think some of it is about missing out on things I used to do with them.