Newly hatched strokee

Hello, I am new to all this, having experienced a stroke almost 3 months ago. I’m 75 years old and have had a lifetime of experiences.
I’m home now after two months in hospital where the low moments were catching norovirus and having to spend some weeks in isolation. There were good times too, the staff were helpful and physiotherapy gave a feeling of making progress and taught me some very useful techniques.

I experienced a severe weakness to my right arm and leg, which I have been encouraged to work on and improve. I very much miss having a pair of viable hands and legs, you don’t realise how vital they are to normal function, but with physio help I’m slowly achieving some progress. Right now I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair.

My speach and cognitive centres were unaffected as the ‘blockage’ occurred on the left side of my brain. I have always been talkative but unfortunately sometimes don’t know when it is time to ‘shut up’.

In hospital I saw how different the effects of stroke can be for each individual. One thing is sure, it is a struggle whatever the effects. We are not alone, our nearest and dearest endure that struggle with us. Sometimes what is happening is mystifying, it is easy to be overwhelmed, but with help and interaction with others, be they fellow patients, visitors, staff, it is possible, with an effort to rise above all this.

As I begin my dealings with the stroke, I wish all who read here well and that the future might be bright.
I wrote this up at home on a laptop computer as I wait for my carers to come to give me a wash.

4 Likes

Hello Bobbi and welcome