Hi all. I’m a newbie. I’ll introduce myself as quickly as I can.
I’m a 48 yr old married father of 2 teenagers
Last June I suffered a tia followed by a right hemisphere blood clot stroke which put me in hospital/ rehab for 5 weeks. Progress was rapid at first, but slowed a lot after those first 3 months and I’ve been suffering central post stroke pain since November. Amytryptoline didn’t work so I’m now on gabapentin (3, 300mg tablets a day) it’s been hit and miss so far.
I’ve just been let go by my employer on medical grounds as well. I’m a FLT driver. Really hoping I can return to work by the end of the year
I’m missing work and driving our family car so much
Yesterday my wife took me down to our local ind estate for a first go at driving since the stroke. Huge wake up call as I was awful and really struggled physically with gears and clutch and and mentally with concentration. I feel devastated. I feel like I’ve had 30 yrs driving experience wiped out due to the stroke
Am I expecting to much too soon? I thought itd be like riding a bike and be fine to a certain extent
Will the concentration return as my strength fully returns? I just want to drive. Really hoping later this year I’ll be capable of driving my family to a holiday down on south coast this year. Don’t get me wrong, my wife is great but I hate sitting in the passenger seat
Any FLT drivers on here who have returned to work after a stroke?
Sorry to have gone on but I need a pick me up and advice after yesterday
Thanks a lot
Wayne

3 Likes

Thank you. Ive been glancing at this forum off and on since the fastastic lady at the stroke association who’s been supporting told me about it last year.
I know everyone recovers at a different rate and that’s why my employers had to let me go but they’ve told me they’ll take me back when I’m fit and ready again. I’ve been trying to look at things positively, I’m relatively young and got time on my side, but im very impatient.