New to this group

Hi, my name is Emily and I'm new to this. I had a stroke on October 1st last year, before that I was a carer in the community. I'm slowly coming to terms with what happened and how it's effecting my life. Any advise anyone can give me to help would be much appreciated ?

Sorry to hear that a stroke got you last October, and welcome to this forum.

You are already at 6 months so your problems and issues are probably coming to the fore. Above all, I can not stress too much that things do get better and it is never too late to get more recovery.

You touch on one big issue and that is coming to terms with what happened. Stroking took minutes or an hour or two. In that time you changed. You might have physical changes and they can often be overcome, not easily, but progress can be had, and you have cognitive issues which are more difficult but can be improved.

Please accept that you will never go back to the person you were last September. What you will achieve is a new person. And in some respects that new person may be better than the old.

Recovery is slow. But we must keep at it. A stroke diary can be a big help, reminding what has gone on and just how much you have recovered.

Regret to say that other people just do not understand strokes. Only another SS (stroke survivor) will really know what you are going through.

Do ask about anything. Lots of us are here for you. At your stage of 6 months I was receiving fabulou advice from SS who were further along the recovery than me. A year or two later, I get a lot of comfort from my peer group. Especially a very clever and wise John (Jeff) who always talks so much sense.

So come online and ask about whatever is bugging you.

You are not alone

Be positive

Smile

Colin