My husbands stroke

Hi I’m very new to this but I’m 39 and my husband is 53, 6 weeks ago he had a stroke leading to him not been able to move his right side so he isn’t walking, I’m finding all of this extremely difficult right now I’m trying to keep our house hold together as well as look after my husband, any support will be very much appreciated x

Dear Donna

So sorry to hear of your husbands stroke. It is a very difficult time for you. It would be helpful if you had a stroke co ordinator to guide you. The stroke association do have these peole, but not for every area. Give them a ring. Another source of information is any local stroke groups. Your GP surgery should have the contact details. No need for the GP, the staff should be able to guide you.

Best wishes. 

Colin

hi Donna 

is your husband still in hospital?

I can only give you my experience as a survivor. my wife held it all together  and still does 3 years on.

I was 57 and in full time employment. does your husband have a job?  my wife liaised with my employer to ensure that I had sick pay. and with the mortgage company to ensure that we could take a break in payments