Late onset spasticity

Hi everyone: Newbie here. I had my stroke Aug.2, 2022. I was recovering beautifully in PT and OT for about 4 months and graduated with flying colors. two months later, I start getting spasms in bed and a funny thing… I let out a big yawn at every spasm. The spasticity built up strongly on right side from my face, down the arm, hand, hips and leg. I have had a second MRI to rule out another stroke. The result showed no second stroke. My therapists didn’t tell me I might be in that group of survivors 1/3 of whom get this. I’m pretty frustrated and stretch and strength train two hours every day. Sad thing is I’m a noted artist and I play piano in a band. but…the hand is just too stiff to hold a paintbrush or tickle the keys.
Muscle relaxers don’t make a dent. I may also have to go back to using a cane which I haven’t needed in months. Now afraid of falling. I just need to vent with you kindred spirits. GodBless.

5 Likes

Hi @Outlander just wanted to welcome you to this forum and so sorry for this bad turn in your recovery. You have at least one kindred spirit here in @pando, I believe he’s a pianist too :slightly_smiling_face:

I only have a vague remnant of this spasticity in my right arm along with foot drop but I only had a mild stroke. There are others on here, included in the post below, who have more experience of what you are going through. You might want to check out that post as they’ve been experimenting with electrical devices to combat the effect of their spasticity.

1 Like

Emerald and Loshy: Thanks so much. I understand that The Tens machines are for those who have no mobility in areas? I can still move my limbs but they feel filled with cement.

2 Likes

Sorry, I think I’ve mislead you there because TENS is more for pain relief. My device is combined TENS/EMS