Just back to work

Hi all. I am 37 and in August I had a ischaemic stroke. I went back to work on the 1st March. I am still very tired and today I got home went to bed at 2 and I woke up 2 hours ago and I am still very tired. I am now getting intermittent headache like I did before the stroke. I don't know if that could be a problem I now have as I work in the motor trade. There are  many pressures stress targets. I don't know what to do.

Steve, others will advise you better than I. Most of us, however, suffer from post stroke fatigue and need to rest occasionally during the day. There is nothing worse than to back to work after a stroke. It is likely that your tiredness and headaches are stress related, as well as your having to return to working life.

It might be worth you talking to your gp. I wish you all the best.

Dear Steve

a stroke nearly always leaves us with SF, which is a form of tiredness, fatigue, with often headaches, nausea, lack of balance etc

very little is known about SF yet so many of us get it. The good news is that it does ease and usually goes away.

best guess is that SF happens as our brain tries to repair the damage that the stroke caused.

To allow or help our brain recover, we need good regular night time sleep and plenty of hydration.

On a practical level, you probably need a break during the working day. Really you need a quiet place to have a nap at least once a day. HR might help you with this, but they need to consult with someone who actually knows about strokes. 

you have done really well to recover enough to return to work. And so quickly. Your brain will be trying to get straight and this seems to take about two years.

I feel so sorry for those who had a stroke in 2020. Before that, the after care and support was pitiful, but now its even worse. 
i had migraines before  stroke, now i hardly ever get one. Probably the medication is helping on that front.