I.p.c.a.s

We recently received information about "Improving Primary Care After Stroke".  This is a piece of research being carried out (jointly - I think) by University of Cambridge and University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust.  My husband was put forward by our GP practice, and will become part of a trial looking at a new service for SS.  To date he has just had to complete some paperwork - a questionnaire which asks you to rate certain statements.  Hopefully it may lead to improvements in the future.

I don't really know where this will lead, but wondered whether anyone else has been contacted?  (We live in Norfolk, and our GP practice is often involved in studies, and takes an active part in training medical students, linked to the local teaching hospital, so we're very lucky that we have a forward looking team).  

That's great! I'm a bit biased as in my pre - stroke life I am an Oncology Research Nurse. 

I've learnt that the best way to move " patient " care forward is to listen to the patient and their families. Not rocket science really. 

Your surgery must be very proactive to participate in regular Research Trials lucky you! 

Hopefully your husband will feel that by participating he is making a significant and worth while contribution to moving care forward for his fellow S.S's. 

Thank you both xx

That’s interesting and coincidental! I had a stroke on Valentines Day this year and have now have a preliminary diagnosis of cancer! We cover both bases in different roles.

unfortunately it’s taking a very long time to get cardio clearance for more exploration of the lungs via bronchoscopy. 

So sorry to hear of your double dose of health problems, especially when you're still left in the dark waiting for further info. 

I hope you get good news soon.  Stay strong and keep in touch, there are lots of wonderful people on this site who will be able to advise you and offer support.

Take care