How to help my husband's mood

Hi. I am very new to this. My husband had a stroke a week and a half ago. Physically he is fine - (aside from getting very tired more easily) but where we are struggling is with the aphasia. The main issue is that my husband is an absolute workaholic and has an absolute passion for research and writing and as he’s struggling with typing and finding the words, he’s understandably frustrated and seems to be hitting a low patch. He is not the most patient of people so the fact he is not immediately bouncing back is even more frustrating.
I’m trying to communicate with him and practice writing and cognition exercises (as well as trying to persuade him to rest and give himself time), but he just seems to be shutting down and isn’t talking to me or engaging with our kids (3 and 8). He doesn’t have much self awareness at the minute or empathy which has been a behavioural shift I realise it’s early days and he’s doing so well but if his mood continues, we will struggle as a family. I just wondered if anyone had any advice for keeping spirits up and keeping him engaged with the kids?
Thanks

2 Likes

@AJB Welcome to the forum although sorry to hear of your husbands stroke. It must be very frustrating for him to not be able to do the thing he loves. I know it’s easy for me to say but he needs to take it steady & not put too many expectations on himself at this early stage. I had difficulties reading & taking things in after my stroke & it has been a case of building that back up a little bit at a time. I used to read regularly (loved it) but 5 months on can only read a page or 2 at a time. I started by reading very short articles (couple of lines). It sounds like you’re doing the right things & I would suggest persevering. The lack.of self awareness & empathy are highly likely to be as a result of the stroke.