Hi I’m new to this!

Hi everyone, sorry we are linked in this way.

I’m Kate, I’m 45 and had a veins stroke on the 28th of December. I spent 6 days in hospital. I lost a lot of my memory, reading and writing. My writing has returned, but I can’t spell!!! I still cannot remember things, like animals!!!
I’m really struggling reading.

I hope you are all being kind to yourself. This is a tough journey that we are on.

But we will get there xxx

3 Likes

Hi Kate and welcome to the forum and the fact that you have made it here is progress in itself :hugs: It’s very early days for you yet, you’ve lots of recovery still ahead of you for your brain to reconnect and engage :smile: It’ll be slow but you’ll get there one day at a time, one step at a time.

Think of yourself as a new born with all those firsts ahead of you again.

Good luck, stay positive, get lots of rest, frequent naps are still order of the day…just like a baby :smile:

1 Like

Hi Kate-- I never could spell!!! Not much of a loss nowadays, since everything’s done on computer and it has spell-check. :grin: Seriously, sorry to hear about your stroke. It’s been such a short time since Dec. 28. Stroke recovery takes time, so don’t be discouraged. I am continuing to improve, and it’s been 4 1/2 years since my stroke. Of course, I began to get well in the early weeks and months, It’s just that the recovery continues. You’ll find a wealth of different experiences and help on this site, so welcome. :slightly_smiling_face: :heart:Jeanne

3 Likes

@cartmalekate

Hi Kate, and welcome!

I’d consider myself new to this too - and suffered a TIA just before New Year. I’d lost my speech but within 24 hours it was returning - and more so during a week in hospital and ever since. With my own experience and seeing that of others, things take time. And how much time varies from person to person.