Hello

Hi all, I'm Caroline, 38 years old and had an Ischemic Stroke on 17th Jan 2020 at 37 years old. 

I'm a fitness class teacher as part of my job so fairly fit and healthy. 

I had a bad cough from 21st December for 2 weeks, flu type symptoms as well and just felt completely exhausted. I went to the doctors on 3rd Jan after trying to teach classes and struggled with the cough being from my chest.

The doctor said it was a bad viral chest infection and signed me off for 7 days from teaching.

7 days later, I taught. Felt okay. A week later, I had the stroke.

It was caused by a Spontaneous Carotid Artery Dissection. The consultant thinks it was triggered by the virus I had and physical activity as I have no underlying conditions.

I was lucky in receiving surgery to remove the clot within 4 hrs of having the stroke and have gained full physical ability back.

I'm still in recovery and struggle with tiredness, not being able to sleep, concentration, not liking too much noise. I also struggle with Covid-19 and the fact that my work is closed so I don't know when I'll be returning. The unknown is not easy especially having had a stroke just before it all happened. 

It feels like my recovery in a way is on pause. 

Hi Caz, just want to agree with Jane's reply.  The timing is never good for a stroke, but everything is really in a muddle right now, but at least you had good treatment, in terms of removing the clot - that will have definitely improved your outcome.  At the moment, it's vital that you get lots of rest, whilst your brain tries to re-wire and re-group, plenty of rest and water will assist it in its vital work!  By doing this your recovery will continue behind the scenes, even though you may feel you are on pause!!

Take good care xx