have the muscles shrunk on my weaker stroke side?

Hi Everyone,

In the mornings when getting mobile,  when I get off my bed and get up from sitting for a while I find that I have to walk on my toes on the left weaker side for at least 15 mins or so before I can comfortably put my whole foot to the ground. Is this because the muscles are weaker or what. Once it has sorted itself out I am fine. But I do know I'm not good at just standing still, I'm better if I am walking or moving my legs.

It is not a major issue in the grand scheme of things.

Sandie.

Dear Sandie

Can I suggest you check your diagnosis, as written by the hospital to your GP.

My diagnosis included "Left sided weakness" and "post stroke tiredness".

Then I would urge you to get physio now rather than later. I didnt think too much about left sided weakness, there are far worse aspects of stroke recovery. 

But it has damaged my right side. I assume because the left side has renounced all responsibility !

I am now in a fair bit of bother with my legs, hips, chest and arms. I am sure that timely physio would have set me straight. I was so happy to walk etc that I didnt really think about the negatives.

I notice how all weight goes right, and I dont even realize it is happening.

Best wishes

Colin

Hi Colin,

Yes I agree with you, I was just glad it wasn't worse and wanted to get back to normal as soon as possible. Because I was on holiday at the time of the stroke and when released from hospital I was looked after by my brother and sister in law and as I could walk and basically look after myself The hospital didn't see a need for physio or anything like that. I would just go for a small walk each day and go out with them when they took the dog for a walk and rest accordingly.

I did get some rubber resistance bands for my arms and legs but still find that cycling is probably the best excersize for me at present apart from walking. I have to admit I am  slower  than I used to be, but still mobile.