Dizziness

Hello everyone,

I am new to this, had a stroke in July 2020, in the cerebellum, 33 years old, have a PFO.

First 8 months recovery was good however last 2 months or so I am getting on and off dizziness ( like on a boat). Should I be worried?

Everyone has dizziness it may be  an attack of vertigo or an inner ear problem try not to panic just check with your GP  for reassurance hope this helps

Morning, had mine in March, iv recently started getting the same on the last week. Was a bit worried to start but doctor us since reassured me.

hope all is ok 

I had the same kind of stroke as you, cerebellar stroke. I am 45. They checked for a PFO but I didn't have one, so my cause is still unknown. As you know, the cerebellum is responsible for equilibrium (balance/coordination etc) and vertigo is a common symptom of cerebellar stroke, before and after the stroke. After nine months, my "dizziness" has degrees of intensity at different times, even with my eyes shut. Sometimes, if fatigued it gets quite bad, sometimes my eye exercises help, sometimes not. Just remember that after the first six months, neuroplasticity slows down and recovery progress slows down, so in my experience it was after the first six months that my symptoms became more acute but less frequent.

There is a primitive test us cerebellar stroke survivors can use to check we aren't having a TIA - touch nose with finger of one hand and then quickly touch finger of other hand, palm slaps, and in supine position trace heel of one foot up the opposite shin. This routine reassures me if I am feeling particularly wobbly and woozy. My stroke consultant taught this to me, and he uses it when I have a consultation with him, if I am feeling anxious.

Here is a link on youtube showing the test I described above: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Ii_lFmd7hw