Discombobulated - stoke at 40!

Good evening everyone,

Been leading up to posting my story for ages. Adter lurking for the last few weeks, finally think I’m ready.

So hello, my name is Emma. I’m a 40 year old mother of three and a midwife by profession. I had my stroke almost 2 months ago now. Here is my story.

I had a fall on the 30th October where I bashed my face and broke my nose. Silly accident with my labrador pulling me over.

Then on 12th November I was at football training with my son when I just felt dizzy and had a pain in my head. A friend got me home and my dad took me to a&e. 8 hours and a CT scan later I left with a diagnosis of delayed concussion and advised to visit a eye hospital about my sighte. But was closing on the day before I could get there. So I was given 2 options - eye hospital on sunday or hospital clinic on monday. The sunday being my twin daughters birthday I didnt want to go so waited til Monday. The Sunday I was sleeping on / off all day and being sick alot. Missed their whole birthday anyway. Monday felt absolutely fine other than a bit blurry vision wise. And No called from the hospital re the clinic. So Tuesday Mum took me to the London eye hospital. They said everything was fine with my eyes and potentially has a stroke and return to a&e. Well my Mum and I were laughing ‘as if’. Anyway back to a&e - triage doctor ‘we wont do bloods or anything as we did them the other day, I dont think its a stoke you dont have the symptoms but as they’ve askes us to investigate we will have to’. She ate those words 4 hours later when she came and told me I had indeed had a left sided occupital stoke. Cue MRI, CT, neck ultrasound, another CT, more bloods and admission for 4 days before being sent home on early discharge protocol.

The stroke doctor said potentially I had an injury in my neck caused when I broke my nose which a clot had broken off and travelled to my brain. Which was confirmed after all the MRI resulrs were in.