Dipping my toe in

Hello My Stroke Guide users,

I'm Jason Haynes, a stroke support coordinator in Swansea, South Wales. I've been working for the Stroke Association for over twelve years. Hence, I have a bit of experience in stroke, but, I've not had one myself. Therefore, I sometimes feel a bit of a fraud when trying to help when my personal experience of stroke is nil.

Prior to my work with the Stroke Association I was a registered nurse, I trained between 2003 and 2006 - I was 30 when i started university. Before university I had a number of jobs starting out as a bricklayer then scaffolder until my mid 20s. I then travelled the world for 5 years spending time in many places and working as I went... it's not always been about stroke for me, I have a lot of life experience, which has been ever so helpful when meeting individuals as I do in my regular work for the Stroke Association.

I've always liked our online help platform and I've had a little bit of experience in My Stroke Guide and this forum over the years. I'm now hoping to become a bit more involved to see if the insights I've gained by supporting over 1300 people face to face in my locality will translate nationally through My Stroke Guide.

I'm really keen to learn from and collaborate with the experts on here, support new users and share my experiences in seeing and celebrating peoples recovery over the years, which is not always easy or natural.

Please feel free to get in touch with me. I will be checking here daily for messages and a browse through the forums. 

I look forward to whatever it is that my involvement here brings!

Best wishes!

Jason