Confidence again

It’s been almost exactly a year since my stroke. Following the stroke I found it difficult to string a sentence together, this improved somewhat but then my self confidence went through the floorboards. I don’t know if I’m saying the right things or even making sense. I’m a writer afraid to write, hence my appearance on this forum. I forget common words: I know what I want to say but I can’t get the words I need. It’s like I want to say something and I know what I want to say, but the word I want is not there; just a blank.

Another strange amusing thing that has happened twice now is coloured rectangles floating in the air at my peripheral vision. Like coloured books floating in an arc. They are clear on the right side but somewhat dim on the left. I told the doctor about this one but he doesn’t think there is any danger, in fact he laughed when I said it was entertaining. (I had trouble with the word “laughed” there - no idea how to spell it".)

Something else I should mention is the vertigo or whatever: This started shortly before the stroke, some two or three weeks before I think. This comes and goes on a daily basis, but I never know what day. It’s like being on a ship at sea, a rolling jelly-like sensation in my head and legs. I have trouble walking on uneven surfaces. Anyone from the local council out there?

In addition to the above, I’ve had countless minor symptoms and pain in my back and legs that has now subsided.
I hope that this is a help to others if only to show they are not alone? I have a sneaking suspicion that the medics don’t know much about strokes.
regards
chaos

3 Likes

@Chaos thank you for sharing your story. I sometimes have difficulties finding words too although I’m no writer. I usually find myself describing an item when I can’t find the word.