Completely lost after my Husband's stroke

Hi, this is my first time posting.

It’s been just under 2 years since my husband’s stroke. I’d hoped life would get easier in time but it doesn’t feel like much has changed and I’m exhausted and mentally drained.

My husband suffered a large stroke in June 2020, has limited speech, partial eyesight, still terrible fatigue and unable to do much of what he loved. His love of reading was cruelly taken away. He suffered with depression before the stroke and that has remained. I love him but find it all so hard to cope with. Emotionally he is very up and down and will think of nothing of spending days on end in bed, no matter how much I try to encourage him to get up. He was receiving psychiatric help last year but after refusing to attend several sessions was discharged from the service.

Some days when I try to speak to him he’ll just grunt back, though when on the phone to his friends he makes a real effort to try and talk.

Most of the time can’t be bothered with anything and I feel he’s just given up. I am younger than him and work full time so trying to work and care for him is a struggle. We don’t have any help from family.

Whilst I am very sorry he is suffering so much, so am I. Most days are difficult and I sometimes wonder how much more I can take. His emotions almost make it impossible. He can be pleasant and helpful one day then days follow of avoiding me and not wanting to partake in anything, including meals.

I’d love to know how other people cope and would really welcome some advice.

Thank you for reading.

Sam

Unfortunately, stroke does affect relationships. In my early days of recovery he joined a local Carers group, which he found very supportive. Is there one in your area? Back then I could be very touchy and bad tempered. Fortunately, I could see how negative this was and stopped. I also encouraged him to have time away from me so as to have some space.